Music Phenzes

People Who Are Addicted To Music

Eddie Murphy On His Return To Music And The Stage

eddie murphy

‘I didn’t want to leave it at ‘Party All the Time,” says Murphy

“All I’ve been doing is making music,” says Eddie Murphy. “I haven’t been working on films, haven’t been developing movies, or any of that shit.” Truth is, though he hasn’t released an album for 20 years, Murphy never quit writing and recording songs – he just stopped releasing them. But now that he’s “semi-retired” as an actor (as he told me in his 2011 Rolling Stone cover story), Murphy installed a recording studio in his Beverly Hills mansion and got to work. The result is “Red Light,” a respectfully received throwback-reggae single guest-starring Snoop Lion, and a new album, 9, due early next year. He jumped on the phone last week for a rare interview to discuss his musical plans, which are likely to include a return to live performances, and an eventual return to stand-up, too.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=jiiFzKfuPMk

People seem to like “Red Light.”
Yeah, I think people had no expectations. It’s always good when they have no expectations.

The reggae part’s a surprise.
Yeah, it was something different. I was like, “I gotta keep grown if I’m trying something.” How can I become grown and still have it be danceable and not look like I’m trying to sound like everybody else.

 You actually played me some Marley on guitar the last time we spoke.
Oh yeah man. I’ve been a big Bob Marley fan forever. Forever. Like big huge. Bob Marley and the Beatles, that’s my big, giant music influence. I can listen to them all the time. All the time.

Were you thinking Marley, specifically, for the vibe of this song?
You, know what happened is, I wrote some words and I was like, “How do you see these words and not have it be pretentious and weird and preachy?” The reggae track best suited that story the way that story is told in that song.

I think the only time we’ve heard you sing reggae in public before was the SNL “Kill the White People” thing.
That’s a classic! [Laughs] But you know, if you look all my stuff . . . If you go back to Saturday Night Live, my stuff always has music, even a bunch of my comedy stuff – like in Shrek, the donkey is always singing. Music is always there. I always do joke stuff with it but it’s always there and I always do it seriously and I stopped putting stuff out because I didn’t want to look like those actors that be putting out records. It looks weird. Just putting out records. There’s a strange like, “What the fuck is this thing?” And I didn’t want to be part of that so I stopped putting stuff out. But my shit . . . I got so much stuff that’s like so way beyond actor’s singing shit, like this track “Red Light”, you just listen to it and it is what it is.

It feels like a pretty legitimate song to me. If people refuse to recognize that…
Yeah, you’re just hating.  Just be hating. [Laughs]

By  rolling stones mag
MPZ ROCZ!!!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 10, 2013 by in NEWS, WORLD WIDE and tagged , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,427 other followers

MPZ Categories

Keep Track

September 2013
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  
